History of Phuket

According historical evidence, the area of Phuket Island has been known as many names which are Laem Takola, Maneekram, Junk Ceylon, Phuket (Glass Mountain). The old town was Thalang which settled since Sukothai period,

The Burmese attacked Phuket in 1785, on the King Rama I, Mrs Chan, the wife of the recently deceased governor, and her sister Mook assembled what forces they could. After a month-long siege, the Burmese were forced to retreat. The two women became local heroines, receiving the honorary titles Thao Thep Kasattri and Thao Si Sunthon from King Rama I.

During the reign of King Chulalongkorn (King Rama V), Phuket became the administrative center of the tin-producing southern provinces which was dissolved and Phuket became a province by itself. It has been known as the Pearl of the Andaman Sea. It is a famous tourist destination in the world. It is the largest island of Thailand located on the west coast of Thailand in the Andaman Sea of the Indian Ocean. Phuket are approximately 543 square kilometers. The length of the island from north to south about 48.7 miles, and wide as measured from east to west about 21.3 miles. Phuket is divided into 3 districts: Mueang Phuket, Kathu, and Thalang.

OSM Andamnan: The Office of Strategy Management for Southern Province Cluster

Phuket Provincial Governors New Office (2nd floor)

Tel: +66 (0)76 212 222, Fax: +66 (0)76 213 222

E-mail: osmandaman@moi.go.th

Copyright © 2555 The Office of Strategy Management for Southern Province Cluster (OSM Andaman)

Design by Phuket Best Group